Friday, November 23, 2007

Eastern Catholic Churches revisited

From my good friend Rocco over at Whispers who is in Rome for the consistory, in a post regarding Chaldean Patriarch Emmanuel III, comes another bit of Eastern Catholic information that makes a nice addendum to my earlier post Eastern Catholic Churches: An extended hierarchy update:

"By decree of Paul VI, Eastern patriarchs are numbered among the cardinal-bishops, the six senior members of the papal senate who are honorarily given title to the suffragan sees of Rome. While every Latin-rite cardinal is given the care of a Roman church -- in token of the college's place as the historic descendants of the city's first clergy -- the patriarchs simply hold the title of the church over which they preside."

Whispers is a great place to follow the consistory.

No comments:

Post a Comment